As part of Nevada’s ‘Driver Improvement Program’, demerits are
assigned to your driving record if a traffic violation occurs.
Demerits are assigned once a conviction notice is received by a
court. Your Nevada driver’s license will be suspended if 12
demerits or more are received in one year. Attending a
Nevada DMV approved traffic safety school will remove a maximum of 3
demerits in a one year period. Even if points are removed by
taking the class, the record of the conviction will remain as part of
your driving history.
|1-10 mph over the posted limit
|Driving to fast for conditions
|11-20 mph over the posted limit
|21-30 mph over the posted limit
|31-40 mph over the posted limit
|41 mph or more over the posted limit
Additional penalties/demerit points for some traffic violations may
be assigned if you have a commercial driver’s license.